The Tale of an Orphan

He grew up on his own

A childhood of thorns and broken bones

Tossed around here and there

A child of eight, with an adverse burden to bear

While we bickered over toys and trinkets

In the comfort of safe shiny blankets

He strived in a house made of glass

For his mere survival with very little warmth

 

His blank eyes filled with deep scars of sorrow

Tainted with worries of a thousand tomorrows

An unimaginable tale of countless unshed tears

A tale of Abandonment, Loneliness and Untamed fears

 

As I begin to contemplate his pain

I realize how lucky I have been in this game

I ask, why does he suffer this misfortune

Is it only because he wasnโ€™t born with a silver spoon like me?

Is it merely the chance of birth that divides our fate?

Isnโ€™t his suffering too much to pay for something that is not his doing?

I am reminded of the harsh truths of life

How life is too unfair to some

And the horrid tales of plight

While we complain from our shiny castles

There are some who suffer the appalling maladies of strife

 

Today, I shall lend a helping hand to him and several others

But I wonder if that will ever be enough,

To fill the empty space that he will always have inside?

And I wonder how my aid will ever suffice?!

About Shreya Khandelwal

I am an Entrepreneur, living in India. I have a Masters degree in Finance and Mathematics. Music, Food and Poetry are the love of my life. I donโ€™t find much time to write as my work keeps me occupied; nevertheless, I try to pitch in as much as I can. I am new to blogging and hope that I can make a difference with my writings. Please feel free to connect, comment, share! Cheers, Shreya

Posted on June 16, 2015, in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 62 Comments.

  1. lovely piece, I have no answers either but any little bit we can do to help others is worth it, what else is there to do. I think we should always be grateful for what we have and try to help others when we can.

    Liked by 6 people

  2. That was touching, Shreya. So true – life seems unfair to many. It’s important to realize our blessings and also help those who need it.
    Rob

    Liked by 5 people

  3. The tale of countless unshed tears is truly unimaginable by us sitting in our comfortable homes criticizing economic policies :/
    Each line written here provokes a thought but an air of pessimism blows. There is so much unfairness that mind wonders if ever anything could change in his life, or the lives of millions of others like him.
    But the amount of inspiration and hope your helping hand has instilled can be imagined by this video:

    A truly wonderful piece this was. Hats off to you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 4 people

    • Wow! What an amazing and inspirational video. “The Power of One” “It made a difference to that one”, such insightful words. Thanks for sharing it, Prateek.
      And thanks for your kind words once again. Your well-thought heartfelt appreciation encourages me more than you know. And now after my every post, I look forward to your wise comments. Thanks a lot! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. For a while, I’ve felt that where one stands in the spectrum of economic disparity is largely an accident of birth. I think it is important to remember as we interact with others in this world. An amazing piece here, Shreya.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Wow, Shreya, a very thought provoking and dare I say, troubling piece. Living here in India, I’ve often wondered over the whys and to me karma alone doesn’t quite answer this question. Nothing that we do will ever be enough, but we can’t not do either. So, little droplets of whatever we can offer are always welcome methinks.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Heart-wrenching Shreya. It’s a blessing if we are content with what we have and have the heart and courage to help others. Lovely and thoughtful!

    Kind Regards,
    -Naima

    Liked by 4 people

  7. The poem is beautifully written. Compassion is very much needed in the present days.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. A step at a time is all we can offer. Been on both sides! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  9. I have nominated you for a voluntary challenge called 3 quotes 3 days challenge ๐Ÿ™‚
    Check it out here โ€“
    https://aamrits.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/the-3-day-quotes-challenge-day-3/

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Amrit, Thank you so much for nominating me. It feels great to know that you thought of me and considered me worthy of the challenge. I am highly delighted. However, my schedule doesn’t allow me to participate in the challenges much. So I am sorry to say that I shall have to skip this.
      Anyways, thank you so much. Gladdened by this gesture.
      Have a good day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • HI SHREYA,
        I just checked your bio and I realized how busy you must be, being an entrepreneur and with all the work pressure. However I recently checked your blog and read your poem, it really moved me. You write beautifully, producing brilliant words in such short time. ๐Ÿ™‚
        So no worries, keep writing your amazing posts and I will be glad to read them. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  10. U’re welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Beautifully expressed, Shreya. We never know what grand things one can bring to the world if given some small opportunity to thrive and dream instead of sink into darkness. Small acts of compassion have big influences. While another is uplifted by compassion, the giver becomes liberated from oppression of indifference too.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks Daniel for such wise and insightful words.
      There is a lot of social capital that goes into determining where we stand and what opportunities we get. And like you said, small acts of compassion surely go a long way. Our one small act can mean a big save for someone else from the darkness. And yes, we too become liberated, more grateful and, helping someone brings a certain kind of true joy, that no material things can provide.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. It is good to analyze the life of the unfortunate. It is good you realize you are fortunate. Some look down upon the poor even children who cannot help their circumstance.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you so much. Yes, I try to see things from their point of view as well. I can’t exactly imagine what they go through, but I try. And we shall all try to lend a helping hand to them instead of looking down at them.
      Thank you so much for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  13. So very beautiful. Compassion, the smallest kindnesses, you can never know their impact. Arriving just at the right time, they can be miracles of hope. It’s the beauty of the human spirit-compassion, and its rewards remain hidden until perhaps the next life, or perhaps in an unexpected kindness one day when sorely needed.

    Thank you for following my blog! Welcome! And I look forward to reading more of your beautiful work. Blessings to you dear one!
    โค
    KaiCarra

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you for your kind and wise words, Kaicarra. Yes, arriving at the right time, even one small act of compassion and kindness might come as a bright ray of hope to someone.

      It’s my pleasure to follow your blog. Some of the quotes that you have posted are my all time favorite ones. Thank you for stopping by. I too look forward to sharing more of your thoughts.
      Have a good day, my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Hey Shreya,this is so touching.. Indeed we are much blessed to have a lovely family to fulfill all our needs and wants. By small ways,we can strive to touch these young lives and make a difference.. thanks for sharing. Beautiful..

    Liked by 3 people

  15. moylomenterprises

    Very soul stirring.
    Sometimes the best way to help is to ask the individual what they want or need. Their response can be quite surprising.

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Hi Shreya…Love this post! Thanks for sharing with us…Wishing you days of Gentle winds…

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Well writen poem! I’ve nominated you for the “blogger recognition award” for your amazing blog at http://aminaberg.com/2015/07/27/blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much Amina! I am delighted to know that you have nominated me for the award. However, I am sorry to say that I do not find the time to participate in such events.
      Nevertheless, you made my day by this nomination. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great day.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Very touching words. I will keep chasing your posts as soon as I get some time. Till then Happy Writing more ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  19. I hope you will post more of your work soon. This is stunning, and very moving.
    Many blessings,
    KaiCarra

    Liked by 1 person

  20. A poignant tale, so evocatively narrated.

    Liked by 3 people

  21. When one thinks like you do, when one questions like you do, one is already an agent of change….small changes lead to bigger changes….and that is all that we need to know….that we need to bring that one change that is in our hands….Beautiful poem Shreya, and more beautiful are your thoughts….!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you so much for your profound appreciation, Sunaina. You made my day! Yes, taking one step at a time is what we can do and what we must do, hoping that would bring about the bigger changes in the future.
      Thank you so much for stopping by.Its great to meet you. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Shivani Singhal

    Your poetry becomes better each time… Happy to see u getting such nice responses ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  23. I love this!! *_* โค

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Very well written. Quite often we tend to forget how fortunate we are, and keep striving to achieve more, but admist all this we become so self centred that we tend to forget the ones who don’t have anything.
    Lovely piece of writing (:

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Oh…touched..!!!way to go…girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment